Blasphemy

Blasphemy

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
7
2
1
"Alexie once again reasserts himself as one the most compelling contemporary practitioners of the short story. In Blasphemy , the author demonstrates his talent on nearly every page. . . . Will appeal to fans of Junot Diaz, George Saunders, and readers new to Alexie will find this enriching collection to be the perfect introduction to a formidable literary voice. . . . [Alexie] illuminates the lives of his characters in unique, surprising, and, ultimately, hopeful ways."-- Boston Globe

"Told in [Alexie's] irreverent, unforgettable voice . . . You'll feel you've been transported inside the soul of a deeply wounded people. But they are a people too comfortable in their brown skins to allow those wounds to break them. . . . With irony and sardonic wit, the Native men and women in Alexie's imagination find a way forward, and they endure. . . . [A] great triumph."-- Los Angeles Times

Sherman Alexie's stature as a writer of stories, poetry, and novels has soared over the course of his twenty-book, twenty-year career. His wide-ranging, acclaimed fiction throughout the last two decades--from The Lone Ranger and Tonto Fistfight in Heaven to his most recent PEN/Faulkner Award-winning War Dances --have established him as a star in contemporary American literature.

A bold and irreverent observer of life among Native Americans in the Pacific Northwest, the daring, versatile, funny, and outrageous Alexie showcases his many talents in Blasphemy , where he unites fifteen beloved classics with sixteen new stories in one sweeping anthology for devoted fans and first-time readers. Included here are some of his most esteemed tales, including "What You Pawn I Will Redeem," in which a homeless Indian man quests to win back a family heirloom; "This Is What It Means to Say Phoenix, Arizona," a road-trip morality tale; "The Toughest Indian in the World," about a night shared between a writer and a hitchhiker;and his most recent, "War Dances," about a man grappling with sudden hearing loss in the wake of his father's death. Alexie's new stories are fresh and quintessential, about donkey basketball leagues, lethal wind turbines, a twenty-four-hour Asian manicure salon, good and bad marriages, and all species of warriors in America today.

An indispensable Alexie collection, Blasphemy reminds us, on every thrilling page, why Alexie is one of our greatest contemporary writers and a true master of the short story.
Publisher: New York : Grove Press, c2012.
ISBN: 9780802121752
9780802120397
0802120393
Characteristics: viii, 465 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

o
outrageous
Sep 21, 2015

Strangely, Indian and Russian mentalities are so very much alike! And the truths Alexie preaches through his stories are the same truths I was raised on in my very traditional family back home in Russia. I was made to realize there's nothing more important for a human being than being tied to family, roots and heritage.

JCLChrisK Dec 26, 2013

It seems to me that all fiction writing falls somewhere on a continuum between barely-disguised autobiographical stories at one end and exploratory role-playing and the imagining of diverse perspectives at the other. Without knowing much about Sherman Alexie the man, this collection of short stories feels much closer to the autobiographical end of that spectrum to me--I don't get the sense that he's exploring different aspects of the human condition so much as different aspects of himself, dissecting his experiences in myriad ways and extrapolating the parts in different directions in an attempt to understand and express his identity. His particulars matter, and many of them* make repeat appearances in different ways in different stories. Yet by looking at his particulars and his place in the world through so many different lenses he allows us as readers to see ourselves and his connections to our experiences of the human condition after all.
-----
Alexie is articulate, eloquent, sardonic, witty, open, honest, and searing. His writing is always entertaining, confessional, poignant, revelatory, and painful. Even as I wanted to dwell on each story and plumb its depths for insight and meaning, I found it hard to put the book down and not immediately devour the next one. I'm going to have to find a copy of this at a used bookstore after returning my library copy so I can revisit the stories one at a time sometime later.

-----

"If she lived with a white person, Corliss knew she'd quickly be seen as ordinary, because she was ordinary. It's tough to share a bathroom with an Indian and continue to romanticize her. If word got around that Corliss was ordinary, even boring, she feared she'd lose her power and magic. She knew there would come a day when white folks finally understood that Indians are every bit as relentlessly boring, selfish, and smelly as they are, and that would be a wonderful day for human rights but a terrible day for Corliss."

-----

*Off the top of my head, elements that kept recurring:
- Being a Spokane Indian
- Living in Washington (state)
- Leaving the reservation school for a white high school
- Playing basketball
- Attending college
- Being Catholic
- Coming from poverty
- Living an urban, educated, middle class life
- Infidelity
- Sexual exploration
- Being a student of literature; being a writer
(And, of course, all the things that recur in any collection of stories, things like family, cultural identity, love, and so on.)

r
ravenread
Oct 19, 2013

Literary shaman

t
thomd
Jun 16, 2013

I really enjoyed most of the stories in this collection, and who doesn't love Sherman Alexie? (Jun 3-15)

m
Mamahammer
Mar 07, 2013

Love this man.

ksoles Feb 18, 2013

Interpreter and observer, sometimes angry but always humourous, Sherman Alexie displays his mastery of the form in his latest collection of short stories.

The theme of "Blasphemy" occurs throughout the book; someone has always committed a sin though often not wittingly. One character, a heavy drinker in need of help to bail out some prized pawned regalia, remains a fundamentally decent person despite a lifetime of errors. Another laments that, once you start seeing your loved one as a criminal, love ceases to exist. As usual, Alexie mainly stages Indians of the Northwest as his protagonists but he includes endless possibilities for misinterpretation among his characters, as when a Spokane encounters three mysterious Aleuts who sing him only permissible songs: “All the others are just for our people.”

Longtime readers will find this profound, affecting collection full of both familiar themes and surprises.

o
okbookgirl
Jan 23, 2013

Alexie is a master of the short story. These stories are sometimes difficult, sometimes funny, sometimes heartbreaking...but always amazing. His characters are mainly First Nation, but he writes about us all - trying to make it through, trying to be good people, getting into messes, making bad or good choices, being forgiven, finding redemption. It is hard to pick a favourite but I think mine is the closing story "What You Pawn I Will Redeem".

Quotes

Add a Quote

s
Sherahughes
Jun 04, 2014

In this world we must love the liars or go unloved.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top