My Mother's Daughter

My Mother's Daughter

A Novel

Book - 2000
Average Rating:
Rate this:
In the tradition of Barbara Delinsky and Patricia Gaffney comes a wry and moving look at the friendships of four women who have reached middle age as a terrible secret threatens to destroy the bond they have built over a lifetime.

On the eve of Mary Sue Prescott's forty-fifth birthday, four childhood friends -- The Girlfriends' Club -- gather at a lakeside cabin. It's a bittersweet celebration as Mary Sue is scheduled for a mastectomy in the morning. When Mary Sue's boyfriend finally shows up, she has already gone to bed. Drunk and angry, he trips, breaks his neck, and dies. Horrified, the three other women put him in his car and send it careening into the lake.

How these women deal with their awful secret parallels their lives and relationships to this point. Pamela is at the beck and call of her rich and boorish husband. Gretchen gave up a promising career to marry an adulterous man who eventually left her for his secretary. Dixie -- also divorced -- is involved in an extended long-distance affair with a handsome but married vineyard owner; as she plays the role of the dreaded "other woman, " even her closest friends can't know.

Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, c2000.
ISBN: 9780684837666
0684837668
Characteristics: 431 p. ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top