Dear Mrs. Bird

Dear Mrs. Bird

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
26
2
"London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit for the war effort, volunteering as a telephone operator with the Auxiliary Fire Services. When Emmy sees an advertisement for a job at the London Evening Chronicle, her dreams of becoming a Lady War Correspondent suddenly seem achievable. But the job turns out to be working as a typist for the fierce and renowned advice columnist, Henrietta Bird. Emmy is disappointed, but gamely bucks up and buckles down. Mrs. Bird is very clear: letters containing any Unpleasantness must go straight in the bin. But when Emmy reads poignant notes from women who may have Gone Too Far with the wrong men, or who can't bear to let their children be evacuated, she is unable to resist responding. As the German planes make their nightly raids, and London picks up the smoldering pieces each morning, Emmy secretly begins to write back to the readers who have poured out their troubles"--
Publisher: New York, New York : Scribner, ©2018.
ISBN: 9781982101107
9781501170065
9781509853892
Characteristics: 281 pages ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From Library Staff

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist— a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.

London, 1940. Emmeline Lake is Doing Her Bit f... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
e
EonHammit
May 19, 2019

Ugh. Stupid protagonists. Boring.

m
MyTake
May 16, 2019

I enjoyed this book. It's mostly light-hearted, often funny, and sometimes has a jolt of wartime concerns. While I found parts of the end a bit contrived, it's still worth a read overall. You won't soon forget the main character!

m
MB_kcls
Apr 11, 2019

'Dear Mrs. Bird' is a tender yet fun story taking place in a gentler time under the worst of circumstances, World War II and Nazi Germany hitting England.

It's a story of friendship, hardship, pain, courage and just 'carrying on' in the face of it all.

If only our modern world were as kind, polite and tender under far less trying circumstances as bombs dropping nightly. We have much to re-learn.

4.5 stars. I absolutely loved the Author's Note on how this charming novel came to be.

Katherine_A Mar 01, 2019

Dear Mrs. Bird is an interesting take on the life of two young women, Emmeline and Bunty, set in London during WW II. Filled with both humor and grim moments when the reality of war emerges. Overall its great read with an interesting plot. I enjoyed the writing style and both Emmeline and Bunty are solid characters in the story. I hope the author continues to write more books!

a
andreareads
Feb 12, 2019

The balance between the lighter, comedic parts and the serious, life-and-death parts didn't quite work for me, but I appreciated additional insight into what that side of my family went through during the Blitz.

wendybird Feb 05, 2019

Stuck in the frigid January doldrums, the blazing golden yellow and chirpy graphic cover of this novel grabbed my attention. A quick scan revealed that this is author AJ Pearce's first novel (uh-oh!), but the plot looked intriguing - Twentysomething Emmeline Lake is doing her best early in the London Blitz war effort to help her native England, but something is missing. Through chance, she lands a sort of dream job -- sorting mail for the city's favorite (but rigidly upright) advice columnist, Mrs. Bee. Miss Lake decides to do something more, something to help the lonely women around her and ventures where no 1940's Ann Landers has gone before.... with funny and serious consequences.
Not a sophisticated read, but a very fun one!

ArapahoeAlice Jan 28, 2019

Set in 1940 England about a year after World War II started in England.

A 23-year old woman wants to be a war correspondent, but ends up getting a job she didn't expect. Lively, well-depicted characters, good humor.

The book lets you feel what it was like to be young in London in the midst of near-daily bombings.

Would also recommend as a Young Adult book.

VaughanPLBecca Jan 04, 2019

"Dear Mrs. Bird" is author AJ Pearce's first novel. It hits the sweet spot for me, since it is light reading but not completely fluffy. It's set in WW2 era London, England with a spunky young female protagonist, Emmy, who is determined to make her mark on the world but isn't quite sure how to do it. Her advice columnist boss refuses to answer any letters deemed "unacceptable", so Emmy secretly takes up the task. Sweet novel, without too much sugar coating.

m
Margush
Dec 31, 2018

The sense of guilt we all know too well. Or, the sense of being judged. Or, judging others and blaming them for something we failed to figure out for ourselves. Or, making decisions without thinking about the consequences. Or, trying to placate people that in reality don’t deserve our attention. This book takes you on the journey to unravel all these feelings and emotions. There’s a lot to reflect on while enjoying the book. Very well written. Highly recommend.

m
missjetlagged
Nov 19, 2018

I enjoyed this book a lot for it's fun writing style and women's perspective WW2 (and the Blitz) that we don't often hear about! I panicked a bit when I got to the last chapter and there were so many loose ends to be wrapped up and so few pages left - it's like the author got a bit tired of the story and decided to wrap things up quickly, or possibly left things open ended enough that there would be a chance for a sequel (which I would heartily endorse!).

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
a
andreareads
Feb 12, 2019

For anyone else I would have described it as lurking, but somehow Mr. Collins could pull off standing around in what should be a suspicious manner. He had a journalist’s ability to make himself unnoticeable.

a
andreareads
Feb 12, 2019

After a big raid it was always sad to see flattened buildings and burnt-out churches which had stood for hundreds of years, but there was something rather triumphant about the monuments and statues, even the parks and big department stores that were still there, getting on with things. The Luftwaffe may have been trying to blast us to pieces, but everyone just kept getting back up. And when you saw that they hadn’t even managed to dent Big Ben and we’d stopped them from burning down St. Paul’s, it did put a smile back on your face.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top