Remarkable Creatures

Remarkable Creatures

Epic Adventures in the Search for the Origins of Species

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
1
"In the tradition of 'The Microbe Hunters' and 'Gods, Graves and Scholars', a top evolutionary biologist takes us on the dramatic journeys that unearthed the deep history of life." -- Cover.
Publisher: Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2009.
ISBN: 9780151014859
015101485X
Characteristics: xix, 331 p. :,ill., maps ;,24 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
c
carbonbusters
May 02, 2011

Well written, makes it a pleasure to read; focuses on the adventures, trials, tribulations and successes of some of the key explorers and researchers of natural history, evolution and palaeontology from Humboldt and Darwin to modern DNA research.

Summary

Add a Summary
g
Gardengallivant
Aug 28, 2010

I was given a wonderful glimpse of what has driven great naturalists into the field despite fatigue, disease, and sometimes an utter lack of funds. These people clearly enjoyed taking their field by storm and getting down to serious disputations about their findings. There is nothing like a solid wrangle over a fossil to get the best work done.

Besides Darwin, Wallace and Bates early work and their influences the book covers Eugène Dubois's discovery of Java Man; Charles Walcott's di ...more I was given a wonderful glimpse of what has driven great naturalists into the field despite fatigue, disease, and sometimes an utter lack of funds. These people clearly enjoyed taking their field by storm and getting down to serious disputations about their findings. There is nothing like a solid wrangle over a fossil to get the best work done.

Besides Darwin, Wallace and Bates early work and their influences the book covers Eugène Dubois's discovery of Java Man; Charles Walcott's discovery of the trilobite bearing Burgess Shale and the several Leakey family members discoveries of hominin fossils in Africa. The end segment covers the work begun by Pauling on molecular clocks and the accuracy of comparing genetic drift's neutral changes in DNA coding sequences of homologous proteins. The controversy & impact of genome based cladistics on classical taxonomy is slightly understated. The book tackles a wide range of material and covers it with a lively involved style of writing.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top